Skip to content

Pistachio Fiasco

December 21, 2010

Was anyone else startled by this campaign? These ads pretty much define that moment of ‘wait, what?’ that tries to snap its viewers out of their comfort zone.

Not really much to ponder here. I give props for strong branding of a seemingly commodity-like product. I mean, who cares about pistachios? Really?

But now people are talking about them. Alongside the lovable keyboard cat, celebrity spokespeople for this campaign include familiar loathables Rod Blagojevich and Snooki. Lewis Black even makes an appearance, shouting about being naked in a preschool.

It’s like jumping and shouting “LOOK AT ME” over and over. But if it works, it works. Right? God knows we need more snack foods in this country.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 11:39 pm

    Hey,
    Sorry I haven’t been around. Do you remember the ads for Emerald Almonds. At 3:00, Robert Goulet does it (I think?) He crawls on the ceiling to get away from “the scene of the crime?”
    I have some catching up to do. I missed two of your posts, and hope I get to it tonight. We had a meltdown, and my mate doesn’t have his computer, which makes for one unhappy family.

    • March 10, 2011 9:28 am

      Do you mean this one? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kPtpo1OuYcs

      That is one awesome commercial. Also: Who is Robert Goulet?

      • March 11, 2011 6:35 am

        Thanks for sending that! That guy in the red shirt is Robert Goulet.

        http://www.robertgoulet.com/ and on Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Goulet

        He was a singer from my parents’ generation. Worked for years in Vegas, but his performance in Camelot was widely praised, although my parents saw Richard Harris do it, and bought that album set (On Broadway.) Before you ask, Richard Harris was a singer and actor; (I’m sure you’ve seen and heard him.
        MacArthur’s Park: Someone left the cake out in the rain, and I don’t think I can take it–I have a copy somewhere on my channel, but found a better version and put it in in my favs:
        http://www.youtube.com/user/scribadiva?feature=mhsn#p/f/12/GHS8hj4TdT8 Great singer, but an awesome actor, British. Did the song for The Paper Chase, was in a lot of movies, on the stage a lot too. I heard MacArthur Park when I was a tween, and I could never get what’s the deal with the cake? He “can never get the recipe again….OH NO!” And who leaves cake out in the rain? He MUST be tripping, or the guy who wrote it was. I still like the song, though. Yes, I’m extremely odd!

        Now I feel 80 years old. I’m still piecing our computers together, but I’m trying to get the essentials on so I can get around. Hope you are doing well; all I do is complain to you, and yet, I don’t know how you are. I will try to get back here ASAP….I’ve also been sick, and watching too many commercials–my DVR isn’t recording!
        How about the Gain commercial? Instead of saying better, it’s “gooder.” I’m sure they do that so you remember the commercial, and I myself like making up words, but c’mon….
        Sweet tides, Linda.

  2. March 11, 2011 6:53 am

    btw, I lost my password for WordPress, but I’m getting another. You may want to add this:

    Google Friend Connect helps people with common interests discover interesting sites and interesting people. To learn more, visit http://www.google.com/friendconnect

    It works on WordPress sites/blogs now. Don’t use it to send people messages though. It almost never works.

    Also, on Facebook, there’s Networked Blogs. You can go to BlogCatalog’s page to see people you know and don’t know. From there, you can get NetWorked Blogs.Look at NIANG, my main blog above, and you’ll see what the boxes look like

    Finally, Fried Eggs is from BlogCatalog. If you post there, it’s automatically linked to your Facebook page and Twitter. It’s a nice place to talk to others about your blog pieces and theirs.
    I’m sorry if you have these things, and I just didn’t see them. I only have a wordpress id because i have an abandoned blog there. Need to finish my websites first.

    You write such interesting stuff, I know people will love your stuff! While I’m playing catchup, I’m trying to review blogs, and I’m trying to do one a day once we recover from this fiasco.

    Don’t mean to be presumptive. Just think you need more recognition for great work!
    Sweet tides, Linda

  3. March 11, 2011 6:59 am

    Thank god you can delete these! I screwed up…I’m using Chromium with my extension that shows everything in black and white, and didn’t see your FB and Twitter, etc. So I used them!

  4. March 12, 2011 11:32 am

    OK: Facebook for Networked Blogs, hook up with people you know from BlogCatalog, and get the widget. Also, MYBlogLog is for other people outside of Google. You just need a Yahoo ID.

    I think a good place to start is Fried Eggs, because you will know people there. Most of the Admin are there.

    I agree. That Broadcasting Thing drives me nuts! I haven’t been around, so I don’t take offense. You could join my main blog, though http://www.needleinanewgroove.com, or thepaingame.org.

    I’ve opened my Word Press Blog: Once I set it up, it will be easier for me to access everyone by reposting. But it will still remain private, so I’m not boosting! It’s hard to read on BC, or even to select people to read, but I’m getting better at it.
    I get your emails, but I also have you on my Google Reader.

    One friend you should make, esp. because you are on WordPress. TimeThief, on BC and Fried Eggs. I asked about the difference between wp.com and org, and she left me a link that I’ll mail you, or drop off. She’s got all the info you could ever want on WordPress, and she’s very good explaining things clearly. I taught for long enough to know a good teacher and good materials when I see it, and she is the real deal–and very cool, too.

    At Fried Eggs, you can keep up with what’s going on at BC. This is a pivotal year for them..Article in San Antonio paper on it. So build up some followers…I put it out on Google Reader, and I’ll do a review on BC when I can…I shouldn’t even be here. My machine is still screwed up, and I’ve got a speech to text thing I have to retrain.

    I don’t know if you have any disabilities, but if you do, I may be able to help with stuff that makes it easier to blog, etc.

    In case you didn’t notice, I really love what you do here!
    Sweet tides, scribadiva Linda Martin at FB

Leave a Reply

