Skip to content

BOOM Dee Ah-da!

October 28, 2010

I ask a lot of people what their favorite commercial is. And sometimes, they ask me the same question back. Usually, I can’t think of an answer, so I just send them Grover doing Old Spice. This promo for Discovery certainly was my favorite commercial for a while. By this I mean my roommates and I would watch it repeatedly to learn all the words. We recorded it to DVR so we could sing along to it on a whim.

Is that a little dorky? Sure. But we were not really even Discovery Channel nuts. Maybe we’d watch MythBusters, if it was on. Trailer Park Boys would always trump it, though. It helps to know some of the faces in this ad to put context to the randomness. Bear Grylls, star of Man vs Wild, makes an appearance. As does Mike Rowe, the MythBusters boys, even Stephen Hawking!

But even without the context, this is such a feel-good ad. This ad should be ranked with ‘Buy the World a Coke,’ for just how happy it makes me. Already spawned a sequel, too. Its got such a great, simple message – our world is just awesome! From the planet to the creatures and cultures that inhabit it, there is always more out there to see, learn, explore… all in HD, too.

And even if we cannot be there ourselves, we can watch it with our friends on Discovery Channel.

&#%$ you Nat Geo.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 5:48 am

    This add was great! I remember it playing most days at the house 2 years ago, (why’d you leave out Jeopardy?).

    I don’t remember singing?

  2. katah permalink
    October 31, 2010 9:08 pm

    So charming! And we used to sing this song, different lyrics of course, at girl scout camp.

Leave a Reply

