Skip to content

Sawyer Swims for Cool Water

October 26, 2010

I mentioned in my last post about Chanel that a scent ad needs a good story to hold it up. This 2008 ad features gratuitous use of Josh Holloway, but does not have anything resembling a story. Why is that woman looking at him? What did he drop in the water that he has to go get? I don’t care.

Davidoff is just updating their previous ad from the ’90s with a new face. But that was the ’90s! That commercial probably sold so much cologne they had to stop running it for a decade or so to recover. Back in the now, there is nothing interesting here. It feels vaguely reminiscent of a Spike Lee Joint, but without the betrayals and bad language. Makes me want to jump off a bridge myself.

 

Ice Block

How do I get my cologne out of this ice block? I hate the '90s.

To make it worse: every time they show this ad in my region, they plug a free travel bag giveaway with purchase (in the same sultry narrator’s voice). If anyone needs a way to finish off a dying brand with poor marketing, look no further. Even Sawyer’s fantastic hair cannot save you now, Davidoff.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 10:29 pm

    I liked watching him, especially the swan dive and the butterfly strokes.

    • November 2, 2010 5:19 am

      I can’t blame you!

  2. November 2, 2010 12:07 pm

    very good article and Nice support article.
    Thank you for sharing information.

Leave a Reply

