Skip to content

Look, With Your Special Eyes!

October 25, 2010

The acting in this spot still cracks me up every time. I love the disclaimer at the beginning: ‘Overly Dramatic Dramatization,’ which took me a few watches to notice. 1-800-CONTACTS has a great, super-stylized campaign, and seems to be successfully branding a 800 number. And they didn’t even use Carrot Top!

His delivery of ‘My Braands!’ is my favorite part. I am terribly tempted to start saying this every time I go shopping.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2010 8:56 pm

    I thought I’d get here this week, but I need your RSS. But you really struck me with this. I have progressive myopia, and have to see an opthamologist every year. I had to see someone I didn’t know (I’ve traveled a lot.) After the exam, he told me “you should stop feeling guilty about your eyes!) WHAT??? WTF??? I thought someone must be standing behind me! Guilt? I’ve had glasses since I was 3, and I love them! What is this non-existent guilt trip you are putting on me? He said it in a sympathetic way, but I thought, What a drama queen!
    So I’m with you. Anytime I see that commercial, I think to myself, well, I need very strong glasses and contacts (although I didn’t rush to get contacts, either) so getting strong enough contracts indicated “special” eyes, but honestly, it only made it more of hassle! I still laugh at that commercial! I’m chronically ill, so I stare at the TV, but commercials really make it, don’t they? Well, I’m following you now; you can check out my blog at your leisure. Have you been to Fried Eggs? People from BC and Bloggers Unite go there, the same community. Check it out. And for now, Sweet tides, and I’ll be reading your feed!

  2. October 31, 2010 9:03 pm

    The feed on your comments isn’t working, but for your posts, it’s fine. I usually get comments in the mail, anyway. Very glad I’m following you; not many people talk about ads these days. You need to get BC people here; you can go to the threads on “shameless promotion,” (people join each other sites) Or ask when you become friends. Having MyBlogLog, would help you build this; I use both that and Google Friend Connect; the latter doesn’t work well, but on Blogger. And definitely go to Fried Eggs. I know people will appreciate this topic.
    I don’t mean to be bossy; it’s only a suggestion, if you want more traffic.

Leave a Reply

